April 1, 2016

Blog Tour Book Review: Six Degrees of Scandal by Caroline Linden

at 4/01/2016 01:07:00 AM

Scandalous #4
Caroline Linden
Releasing March 29th, 2016
Avon Books

Olivia Townsend is in trouble and out of options. Pursued by a desperate man in search of a lost treasure, which she doesn’t have, she’s got only two things in her favor: her late husband’s diary, which she was never meant to see… and the man who was her first-and only-love. Losing him broke her heart, though she’s been careful to hide it for the last ten years. But when he comes to her aid and vows to stand by her this time, no matter what, she can’t help but hope things will be different this

James Weston has blamed himself for letting Olivia down when she needed him years ago, and he will not do it again. Fortunately, his unusual life has equipped him well to outsmart the villain chasing Olivia. Unfortunately, being so near her again threatens to expose every secret in his heart…even those that should stay hidden forever.

A solid read. I mistakenly thought this was the first book in the series. This book is actually the fourth in the Scandalous series. While reading, though, I felt like it was okay to read it. I'm sure reading the books in order would have provided more context and background information, but I understood the story well enough. We have Olivia, family friend to the Westons. She, like many destitute eligible females of her time, was bartered off into marriage for a sum of money. But, wait!! Where's the hero of the story? Enter James Weston. The physicial embodiment of wanderlust and curiosity. While the pair do declare their love for each other, after a rather steamy make-out session, tragedy strikes. One of these two dropped the ball, and the other paid the price.

We fast-forward several years and Olivia is in dire straits. She is left destitute, with a very creepy psycho stalking her. Olivia receives a diary wrapped in a shroud of mystery and decides to find out more about this mysterious diary her husband kept. Through her exploration, Olivia finds out shocking truths about her husband and the secrets he kept. With paranoia and fear building up inside her, who should come to her rescue? Why, it's James! Together they hope to find and collect enough clues to figure out the mysteries between the pages of the diary. Oh, and to rekindle the love they had for each other, when they were young. Overall, I thought it was a great read. I do, highly recommend that you read in order. 

Caroline Linden was born a reader, not a writer. She earned a math degree from Harvard University and wrote computer software before turning to writing fiction. Ten years, twelve books, three Red Sox championships, and one dog later, she has never been happier with her decision. Her books have won the NEC Reader’s Choice Beanpot Award, the Daphne du Maurier Award, and RWA’s RITA Award. Since she never won any prizes in math, she takes this as a sign that her decision was also a smart one. Visit her online at www.carolinelinden.com.

 Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Enter to Win a Print Bundle of the Scandalous Series Books 1-3, 




The Consummate Reader Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare