February 25, 2013

ARC Review: A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara

at 2/25/2013 11:46:00 PM

In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other. 
After watching her beloved sister Sophia pine over the ton’s Golden Boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf. Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly-named Earl of Clivesden…the man of Sophia’s dreams. 
Since resigning his Cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has set Julia in his sights, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover more than friendship driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when she refuses him and her father announces her betrothal, he fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society…
…and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.

I really liked this book. This is the first book I've read from Ashlyn Macnamara, but it won't be my last. The characters reflected the ideals and social norms of the set time era and that's something I always look for in historical fiction. Usually authors of this genre have to do a lot of research to create the setting for their story. Julia is a no nonsense kind of girl in the Victorian era of London. Her sister is in love with the Earl of Clivesden, who IMO was an inconsiderate D-bag throughout the entire book. I was immediately drawn to the hero of the story, Benedict, Julia's childhood friend. When her scheming parents make deals with the devil, Julia has no choice, but to turn to Benedict for help. There were laughs, cheers, jeers and sigh-worthy lines. I definitely win order a copy for my collection and highly recommend this good read. Click the links below to get your copy today.

Amazon

BAM

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Leave a thought, Take a thought? :D

 

The Consummate Reader Copyright © 2010 Designed by Ipietoon Blogger Template Sponsored by Online Shop Vector by Artshare